Management Board Membership

Prof Jon Binner Deputy Head of College and Professor of Ceramic Science and Engineering, University of Birmingham
Prof Bill Lee Professor of Ceramic Engineering and Director of the Centre for Nuclear Engineering, Imperial College London
Prof Mike Finnis Professor of Materials Theory and Simulation
Prof Mike Reece Professor of Functional Ceramics and Director of Nanoforce Technology Ltd
Mr Daniel Shepherd Technical Lead, Fuel & Radioisotope technology, NNL Fuel Technology, UK
Dr Jonathan Phillips New Horizons Leader – Global Materials Centre of Excellence,  Morgan Advanced Materials, UK
Dr Roger Morrell Emeritus Fellow, NPL, UK
Prof Peter Brown Senior Principal Scientist, Dstl, UK
Dr Azad Hussain Lead Technologist and Domain Lead, MBDA
Dr Ken Young Technology Director, MTC, UK
Luke Davis Engineering Manager, EPSRC

The Management Board is also attended by Dr Alba Matas Adams, Technical Manager in the Department of Materials, ICL, and Ms Allie Hardwick, Research Administrator, College of Engineering & Physical Sciences, UoB.

International Advisory Board Membership

Prof Paolo Colombo Professor of Materials Science and Technology, University of Padova, Italy and Adjunct Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Penn State University, USA
Prof Bill Fahrenholtz Curators’ Professor of Ceramic Engineering, University of Missouri S&T, USA
Dr Allan P. Katz Senior Program Manager, Composites Branch, Air Force Research Laboratory’s Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, USA
Prof David Marshall Principal Scientist, Materials Division, Teledyne Scientific and Adjunct Professor, University of California Santa Barbara, USA
Dr Diletta Sciti Research manager (national and international research projects), ISTEC, Italy
Prof David Smith Professor Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Céramique Industrielle, Groupe d’Etude des Matériaux Hétérogènes, Limoges, France
Dr Peng Xu Principle Engineer, Methods and Technology, Westinghouse Electric Company, Hopkins, SC 29061
Dr Dietmar Koch Vice Director and Head of Department, Institute of Structures and Design, Ceramic Composites and Structures, DLR, Germany
Luke Davis Engineering Manager, EPSRC

The International Advisory Board is also attended by Profs Binner, Lee, Finnis and Reece and Dr Alba Matas Adams and Ms Allie Hardwick.

Organisational Membership

  • AFRL, USA (Air Force Research Labs)
  • AWE, UK
  • Culham, UK
  • DSTL, UK
  • ESA (European Space Agency)
  • FCT, Germany
  • ISTEC, Italy
  • Kerneos, France
  • Lucideon, UK
  • MBDA, UK & France
  • Morgan Ceramics, UK
  • NNL, UK
  • NPL, UK
  • Powders, UK
  • Reaction Engines, UK
  • Sintec, UK
  • Teledyne, US
  • Tokamak, UK
  • TWI, UK
  • University of Limoges, France
  • University of Missouri S&T, US
  • Vesuvius, UK